The Kansas Sessions

Kirsty McGee · 2008

The Kansas Sessions
  • Hobopop Recordings · HPCD004 | HPDL004
  • Formats: CD | DL
  • Produced by Mike West
  1. Bonecrusher
  2. Gunsore
  3. Sandman
  4. Sparks
  5. Alibi Blues
  6. No Way To Treat A Friend
  7. Lamb
  8. Killer Wasps
  9. Shame
  10. Dust Devils
  11. The Profit Song
  12. Faith

‘A stunning musical masterpiece that is up there with the best of Eilen Jewel, Devon Sproule and Amy Lavere’ – Maverick

‘The Kansas Sessions’, Kirsty’s fourth full length album, on her own record label, Hobopop Recordings; a company set up to spearhead her own sense of musical fair-trade, is dominated by Kirsty’s clear, intimate, English diction and phrasing, her dark, sometimes macabre, celebrations of life, and Mat Martin’s inspirational musicianship – it was recorded in the United States and is full of joyously engaging songs, shining with American influences.’ – Rough Trade

‘A fine album, and possibly her best so far’ – R2 ****

The Kansas Sessions – Produced by Mike West
Recorded by Mike West at The Ninth Ward Pickin’ Parlour, Lawrence, KS, USA
Mastered by Denis Blackham at Skye Mastering
Artwork & Graphic Design: Mat Martin
Photography: Graham Smith

Kirsty McGee: Vocal, Guitar, Mandolin, Percussion, Junk
Mat Martin: Banjo, Guitar, Tenor Guitar, Wood Banjo, Banjo Uke, Washboard, Percussion, Junk, Vocal
Katie Euliss: String Bass, Zils, Vocal
Colin Mahoney: Drums, Percussion, Dumbek
Mike West: Mandolin, Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Dobro, Jug, Percussion, Junk, Vocal
Larry Maxey: Clarinet
Tom Johnson: Trombone, Vocal